Focus: The focus of this self-help article is to provide steps on how to “Share” PandaDoc Content from one workspace to another.
What is content sharing?: The Content Sharing functionality allows you to share Templates and Content Library with other workspaces that you have permission to share. You can share individual files and/or entire folders of Templates and Content Library files.
Shared content is available as a read only. While it can be used to send out new documents, it cannot be edited. Edits have to be made on the original template/content library item. Please note: If you are using Approval/Workflow process for your Templates, in order for the documents to be approved in the shared workspace, the “approving-team member”, but be in the both workspaces.
Feature availability: Available for PandaDoc Enterprise plans only. If you would like to use this feature, please contact us by using the “Green Help” button found on the lower right side of your account and we can enable it for you.
Step 1: Share your individual content across other workspaces. You can share individual content by two ways. Example shown is for Templates… Find the template, then use the “…” on the far right and click on Share.
Alternative method, open any template or content library item, over on the right, click on “More” > “Sharing”. The example below shows a template called “Website and Social Media Design Proposal – non intro template” being shared.
Step 2: Share with others. Next, you will see two sections, “Available workspaces” and “Shared with”. You can see which workspaces you can share share with and which workspaces it has already been shared in.
Step 2-A: Sharing to a workspace. Under “Available Workspaces,” click on the desired workspace that you want to share the content with. You can share with an individual workspace or share with as many workspaces as you would like. Select and confirm which workspace(s) you want to share it with by clicking on “Save Changes.”
Step 2-B: Review content shared status. Under “Shared with”, here you will see a list of the workspaces in which the content was shared with. You also have the to option to “remove” this content from being shared.
Step 2-C: Sharing the entire folders of content. You can also share entire folders of content. Open the folder that you would like to share. Click on “Share Folder” on the right. In an original workspace you shared from you will see shared icons next to folders and items which are shared.
Below is an example of template folder called “Integration Templates”.
Step 3: Accessing Shared Content in new workspace. In the Template and Content Library sections, you will see a special folder called “Shared with me” folder.
Step 3A: Using Shared Templates. In addition to the “Shared with me” folder, they can access them in the “New Document” dialog. Shared templates cannot be edited or modified. In order edit or modify shared templates, changes in the template must be in the original workspace it was shared from.
New Document Creation. You can also select the shared template by going to “New Document” > Shared templates.
Step 3B: Content Library: Users can use shared Content Library items and add them to documents same way as they do it with regular Content Library items. Shared content library cannot be edited or modified. Please note: In order edit or modify shared content library, changes in the content library must be in the original workspace it was shared from.
In the example below, the “Example Table with Signature Block” content library item is being added to a brand new template.
Step 4: Editing a shared piece of content. Please note: No editing access is available in the shared workspace. Edits must be made in the original workspace by the content creator or those that have permission to make edits.